Nutritional Yeast? Sketched out, to be or not to be??

My meal was healthy and interesting tonight! Made fresh pesto with gluten-free pasta. I’m not sure about gluten-free pasta – the texture is a little rubbery, weird. Nonetheless, it filled me up and I had it with a bit of quinoa salad. Here is the pesto recipe for those of you who are curious (just blend it all together, and wa-la, you’ll have healthy pesto):

  • 3/4 cup cashews
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds 2 large cloves garlic
  • peeled 2 cups basil (roughly 2 large handfuls)
  • 1/2 cup nutritional yeaststrange, right?
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1-2 tablespoons olive oil (drizzled in at the end only as much as needed)
  • 1/2 to 1 cup water (again, added slowly to thin to desired consistency)

Nutritional yeast sounds so sketchy. I went to Trader Joe’s, a health store, and finally had to go to a special ‘Natural Foods’ Store to find this stuff. Then I looked it up on Wikipedia and got even more weirded out, but I ate it anyway. ‘Deactivated yeast’ does not sound enticing, but I guess it did the job. Check out my Tuesday night meal (I forgot to take the picture at the beginning of the meal so that’s why there’s only a little pasta left):

Leave a Reply

