Winter Calorie Savers

I realized I haven’t posted pictures of food in awhile, so below, you’ll find of the stuff I’ve been eating the past few days. Also, one thing that hasn’t really bothered me so far are the shakes and supplements. I know some people get really really sick of them, but I don’t mind it. The shake in the morning is so light (ice cubes, almond milk, and 2 powders), and by lunch, I’m super hungry and ready to go. I feel so much better than sometimes when I eat a bagel with cream cheese, eggs, and fruit. Just like people say, it’s important to eat breakfast in the morning, but it’s nice when you feel light and not overly full your entire morning. P.s. according to the poll it looks like there are more people who are not inspired by my blog to do a cleanse, however, there are still 10 people who are! That makes me happy – if 10 of you do the cleanse, I guarantee it’ll be a great experience and you’ll learn a lot more about yourself. Anyway, here are the pictures below along with recipes:

As you can see on the left, there’s a burrito bowl I’ve gotten twice from Whole Foods so far – it’s delicious!: brown rice, lettuce, black beans, chicken, and guac. I do have a confession though – the guac had salt in it. Honestly, I’ve been so good and I figured that breaking the diet by a little bit is not the end of the world. I obviously wish it was sea salt, but it wasn’t 😦 I look forward to the burrito bowl every weekend. It’ll definitely be my lunch before the NFC Championship game this Sunday… hella looking forward to that meal… yum.

On the right, you’ll see grilled asparagus, cauliflower steaks, and butternut squash soup. Cauliflower steaks are by far one of the best things I’ve had to date. They’re sooooo tasty if you make them right. I’m not a big butternut squash soup gal, but it fills you up and does the job. Here are the recipes for both. I totally recommend trying them!

Cauliflower steaks:

1 large head of cauliflower, rough end of stem and leaves discarded 3 tablespoons truffle olive oil OR you can use extra virgin olive oil and season with truffle sea salt instead, whichever is easier to find Sea salt and fresh ground pepper

  • Preheat oven to 400
  • Place the cauliflower head on a cutting board with the stem down and cut 1” thick slices down lengthwise so you have several “slabs”.
  • Lay the “slabs” on a lightly oiled baking sheet and brush them with truffle olive oil and season generously with sea salt and freshly ground black pepper.
  • Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until tender and dark brown.
  • Serve warm.

Butternut squash soup (Keep in mind that you can add more veggies and your own herbs):

1 large winter squash (or 2 small ones, any kind will work, delicata, acorn, butternut), halved and seeds removed
1 cup water
1 cup unsweetened almond or coconut milk
1 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon curry powder
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon fresh ground pepper

  • Turn oven on to 400
  • In a baking dish filled with an inch of water, place the squash halves (skin side down) in the water and cover the whole dish with foil and immediately put into the preheating oven (this saves energy and will ensure the following cook time is fairly accurate)
  • Bake/steam for roughly 40 minutes (or until the squash is tender) when pierced with a fork (when you lift the foil to check be careful as the steam will be VERY hot)
  • When done, remove from oven, discard the water and let cool.
  • Scoop out the flesh and put into a blender or food processor (should be roughly 2 cups) with the water and non-dairy milk, sea salt, curry powder and cinnamon.
  • Blend until smooth, about 1-2 minutes, then remove and warm in a saucepan on the stove and serve.
  • This keeps in an airtight container in the fridge for several days, just reheat over the stove as needed.
One response

Leave a Reply

