Gather

On Friday night, I decided to venture out of San Francisco – I’d been eating at home day after day and I really wanted to finally eat out. Dhru had told me about this awesome restaurant in Berkeley that fits the cleanse, Gather, and I’d heard about it a bunch too, so I decided to give it a try. Luckily, Radha lives in Berkeley and was willing to try this with me. It was raining cats and dogs and BART was having a lot of delays, but finally I made it there.

Man, that place is awesome! The ambiance is so cute, people are so knowledgeable about every single ingredient in their dishes, and they have such a wide variety of food for health freaks and vegan/gluten-free eaters. The cocktail list looked really good, and I think Radha got the Bee Sting. (Definitely going back there for cocktails soon!) And the bread they bring out to your tables… I really wish I could have tried a piece. Anyway, we started out with the vegan sampler plate. Unfortunately, I couldn’t have half of the items because they’re made with citrus puree, which is very much acidic. Regardless, the presentation was awesome, and I totally recommend getting this because the cauliflower I could eat and the mushroom dish on the left side was fantastic:

For our main course, we got the Grilled half chicken that came with spicy Beluga lentils, braised greens, and salsa verde (I couldn’t eat the salsa so we got it on the side for Radha). That was hands down one of the best chicken dishes I’ve had in my life. It was sooooooooooooooooooooo well-cooked, tender, and the overall quality was excellent. Wowza, that shit cray. I totally give that a freaking 10 out of 10 – Gather is definitely high up on my list for one of the best restaurants I’ve been to in the past few months, and it’s crazy that it fit the cleanse! I totally need to go back and try other things – the kale salad, fritto misto, their pizzas (!!) and some of their tasty desserts. Despite being completely soaked by the time I got back to my apt in SF, what a satisfying night! (Sorry that this pic is kinda dark):

Leave a Reply

